Foodie

Summer Salads

 

When it’s hot outside, there is nothing I love more than a crisp, cool salad. Unfortunately, there are just so many times I can throw Italian dressing over my salad before I start to get bored. I’ve recently become obsessed with Greek food, and after I used a bottle of Greek dressing for my salad, I figured it would be easy and delicious to make my own. I looked around for vinaigrette recipes, and I came across the website (shockingly named) Vinaigrette Recipes, which has dozens of different ideas to try for marinades or salad dressings.

Making my own Greek dressing was simple, and it tasted so good! Making my own dressing also means I’m getting the freshest ingredients and not a bunch of preservatives I can’t pronounce.

If you’re looking for a new, easy-to-make dressing, here are a couple that I’m going to try from Real Simple Magazine, since they sound refreshing and simple:

Balsamic-Dijon

Ingredients

Directions

  1. In a small bowl or jar, whisk or shake together the oil, vinegar, mustard, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper.
Basil Lemon

Ingredients

Directions

  1. In a food processor, process the basil, garlic, salt, and lemon juice until smooth. With the motor running, slowly add the oil. Blend until combined.

 

Leave a Reply

